Sometime they choose you…

Over the past 2 months I have noticed movement in the woods behind our house. In particular two men who were coming and going into and out of the woods for about a week. At first I thought that maybe someone was living back there because when I went back into the woods I saw signs of life (a tarp, a lean-to shanty built from plywood and a couple of children’s chairs). I was not really happy about people living in the woods behind my house and was taking steps to see if this was really true when I realized what was really living back there was a dog. I could never get an excellent look at the dog though because it was always hiding behind a tree or the thick undergrowth and would run off every time that I approached.

Image

This little dog kept watching us from a distance, but we could always get a glimpse of him and hear him running through the undergrowth. So I decided that I would put out some food and water for him. It was also very cold outside (around 30 degrees at night and in the 40’s during the day), so I put an old igloo dog house with some blankets just inside the woods for him to sleep in at night.

Image

Image

We began to see him more often, sometimes peering right into the yard from the fence line.

Image

Image

Image

He seemed to be getting bolder and very very curious about my dogs, my back yard and us as a family in general…. so I decided that I was going to venture out into the woods and see if I could begin to win his trust. My daughter started this by leaving the back gate open and having a trail of food go from the woods to inside the yard. He didn’t seem that adventurous just yet.

There is a 10 foot-wide path area between the back yards and the start of the woods. I decided to sit out in this path area and just begin calling to him to come to me. This is when I started calling him Baby. I did this for a about 1 week before he began slowly coming into the clearing in front of me. He always kept his distance, but none-the-less, he was allowing me to see him. He would sit or lay about 20-30 feet from me and just watch me and watch our dogs.

Image

Image

This went on for about a week, then one day I decided to sit on the back door step and leave the gate open. As I was sitting there on the doorstep, in came Baby….he sniffed around and went deeper in the yard. I hopped up and closed the gate and walla, I had him! He allowed me to take a picture of him while he sat there, but you could tell that he was very afraid of me and shivered whenever I got near or touched him.

He needed a bath badly!! I pulled at least 30 ticks off of him and removed a collar that was so tight on him that it was rubbing his neck raw. I got some food and water and some nice warm blankets and put them in the back yard for him and went back to work. However, when I got home he was not in the back yard anymore…he had dug his way under the fence and was gone :(.

That next day our family went to Seaside Beach to relax and enjoy the day and try to let go of the fact that Baby was back out in the woods again :(. We had a wonderful, relaxing day. When we got home I let my dogs out in the back yard and I couldn’t believe who was there waiting for us…it was Baby! He seemed very excited to see us!

Baby loves my dogs, so I put Colbie on a leash and went out in the woods and Baby followed us right back into the yard.

That night I gave Baby about 3 baths and conditioned his fur in order to get him clean. Afterwards he smelled like coconut and looked so pretty!!

Image

Image

I really wasn’t looking for another dog, but I guess sometimes they choose you! Now we are looking for a name for our new Baby…I believe he’s an English Pointer 🙂

He absolutely adores my dogs – Crosby and Colbie – and I think they like him a little bit too 🙂

I think he is fitting right in to our little doggie family … but we need to figure out a better name than Baby….if you have any suggestions, please feel free to leave them in a comment 🙂

Image

Image

Image

He’s still a little timid and trusts the dogs more than he trusts me, but he’s getting there! I may be the first real friendly human contact he’s known.

This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

