Crosby, Oh Crosby!

I totally understand how Crosby (my rescue dog) became a stray…(not excusing his previous owners, because if he got out of the yard they should have searched until they found him… but…). Crosby likes to go out at 5 in the morning – sometimes – so I let him out and went back to bed … Well I guess it thundered (I didn’t hear it) but Crosby did!

image

image

image

image

image

Next thing I know, my neighbor is knocking on my door. I open my door and there sits Crosby on my front porch. Crosby quickly enters my house while I say to the neighbor “Oh my, where’d you find him?” He said “I didn’t find him, I was driving by on my way to work and I saw him coming around the side of your house, so I stopped my truck and rang your doorbell.” I thanked him profusely and closed the door. This guy is the owner of two huge brown labs, so he knows how it feels to have your dog escape your yard :). Crosby was so glad to be in the house and panted heavily for the next 30 minutes. I guess he had put quite an effort into trying to get inside the house…I wish he would have just barked or something.

image

Later that day I inspected the fencing to see where he could have gotten out and realized that there were no dug up places, no broken fence areas…the only place he could have gotten out was to climb the fence at the gate. The rest of my wooden fence has the smooth boards facing inward, so he couldn’t climb there. However, the gates have cross boards where he could get a footing to climb. Crosby had climbed my 6 foot gate to get out of the back yard and was looking for an alternative way to get into the house!

image

So, my next project (like I needed another one) will be to screw the boards on the inside of the gates so he cannot climb them.

image

Crosby, oh Crosby…I find myself saying that alot these days because we have had non-stop thunder storms. Crosby is deathly afraid of thunder and lightening…probably from the time he spent as a stray out in the Florida storms, which are a respecter of NO ONE. Poor fella…so I’m working hard to ease his mind and let him know there is nothing to fear when he’s in the house with a thundershirt, doggie music and sedatives :).

image

image

But even with all the extra work he has added to my life, I wouldn’t trade him for the world! He’s a sweet, cuddly, loving, beautiful, goofy, gentle giant who I absolutely adore…and who takes up most of my queen-sized bed when he lays on it. Jazmin, my border collie is loving him more and more every week. They are becomimg fast friends. 🙂

image

image

image

image

image

image

image

This entry was posted in border collie, dogs, Great Pyrennees, Leonberger dog, Life, Pets, projects and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Crosby, Oh Crosby!

  1. lammilee says:

    Kudos for rescuing him……and more kudos for sticking it out! I would’ve run out of money by now for any more options! Love you Sis! You’re the best!!!

    • VickyVP says:

      Thanks Sis! 🙂 he’s so loveable, it makes it easy to stick it out…and it hasn’t cost that much…the thundercoat was the biggest expense ($40), the sedatives are only $12/mo. And the music cd was free 🙂 (birthday gift from Chip) the main thing it takes is time to sit with him and help him through the rough patches… Love you back xoxo

Leave a Reply

