My Baby Zebra Finches :)

Life has been very busy around my house lately. Some of it is due to getting a new big dog (named Crosby) who is still in puppy stage (although almost full-grown) and needs lots of training, and some of it is due to the load at work having increased, and some of it is probably just due to my state of mind lately. However, usually what suffers when I get busy is my blog. But at least now you know that I haven’t disappeared, and am still alive :).

Back on April 27th I noticed my mamma Zebra finch was not coming out of the nest even when I got near, so I took the cage down from its perch where it hangs on the ceiling and took a peek and sure enough….there were 4 eggs in there! 🙂

Yay!! I’d been waiting for them to lay eggs.

Well, it didn’t take long before they started hatching (exactly 13 days for the first one). Each day it seemed like another one had hatched. The last two that hatched though ended up on the bottom of the cage. I’d come home at lunch and there would be a baby on the bottom of the cage…well fed and happy :)….so I’d gently pick it up and put it back in its nest :). The next day at lunch, same thing! I think what happened with the last two is when the parents were removing the egg shells they literally “threw the baby out with the bathwater” so to speak. But all is well now and the babies are growing like crazy!

Here’s the babies when only two of them had hatched….

Here they are after all 4 had hatched (this is about 2 weeks): (sorry it’s sideways, my phone keeps messing up)

And here they are this morning at about 2 1/2  weeks old, they develop so fast!!

Then my other zebra finch couple had some eggs, but I don’t know what has happened to them….they are very new parents so either they didn’t like me taking a picture of them and they have hidden them somewhere or they ate them?? (do they do that?) … anyway, I can no longer find the eggs, so we’ll see what happens 🙂

I posted a video of the 2nd couple’s new eggs on Facebook, but for some reason the video isn’t on my phone anymore so I can’t share it here….like I said, time for a new phone….

Hope you enjoyed my baby birds, I’ll keep ya updated with their progress…and if we ever find the other 2 missing eggs :).

This entry was posted in adventures, Birds, eggs, finches, zebra finches and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Baby Zebra Finches :)

  1. lammilee says:

    Yea!!!! Cute babies! From what I remember, Society Finches are kinda mottled brown, white and black….will these have those colors when they lose their baby feathers.

  2. Laurie Wade says:

    Yay! New cyber pets!!

Leave a Reply

