Hey Mom….We Found Her!!!!

That’s what my dogs seemed to be saying to me when I opened the door and my dog, Jazmin and Vanessa’s dogs, Kelso & Autumn, came running to greet me! They were panting heavily, but excitedly and seemed extremely happy. Their noses and paws were covered in wet sand and that should have been my first clue that they were up to something…but I was a little slow that morning…only just beginning to drink my first cup of coffee.

So, I followed the dogs outside and around the side of the house. As I’m realizing where they are leading me I begin to think of the possibility of what I’m about to see….surely not….

Ah, but yes….what they had found that had made them so excited was my Lady….they found that she was buried in the ground and were trying to dig her up! I’d put iron fencing around the grave area, that also houses our dog, Joey and our kitty Kiara, but somehow they found her. Whether they could smell her through the 3 1/2 – 4 feet of earth that I’d shoveled on top of her, or whether it was just soft dirt that they just happened to start digging in, I’m not sure. They had uncovered just a very small part of her tail area, but not enough for it to be gross….although flies had already begun to gather.

My heart sunk. I didn’t really want the dogs to know she was dead. But, their curiosity got the best of them, I guess. I felt bad for them that they were so excited that they had found her and I guess they thought they were saving her. I explained to them that she is no longer with us and that she was in heaven playing with Kiara and Joey while she waited for the rest of us to get there. Then proceeded to put concrete square stepping stones around the area so they won’t dig anymore.

Then, of course, my mind started thinking (as my mind does) that maybe she was still alive under that dirt. Impossible, I know…but this is the way my mind works. Ugh!

This entry was posted in Beloved Pets, dogs, Life, smart dogs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hey Mom….We Found Her!!!!

  1. Joann says:

    My heart is aching for you. I just can’t imagine the loss being so recent and then this. I am praying for your peace today.

    • Victoria says:

      Thanks Joann….as hard as it has been, this was a bit humorous (if that’s possible) that the dogs were so excited about finding her. I had debated letting them know she was dead by sniffing her dead body before we buried her. We did that with our dog Joey when he died. But even though that helped them know where Joey went….it caused our Jazmin (border collie) to go into a depression which lasted about 6 months. I was trying to avoid that happening with her this time and I thought it would be a softer blow, but I guess she needed to know….

      I’m glad that they know she is dead now and they too can move on. It’s amazing how dogs also mourn the death of their loved ones…Lady and Jazmin had been together since Jazmin was 3 months old….but Jazmin seems to be doing okay….thanks for your prayers….having Crosby around has kept all of our minds off of our loss (to an extent) for which I’m very grateful!!

  2. Laurie Wade says:

    I’m relieved to hear you say you found this a bit humorous. Makes me feel less guilty for laughing out loud. It is sad, but the image of your dogs being so excited about their find made me laugh. Hang in there!

    • Victoria says:

      I was both taken back and humored by their childlike excitement that they’d found the friend that I’m sure they were wondering what had happened to! It made me laugh too that they would get so excited about finding her buried in the ground. Surely they smelled death, so they couldn’t possibly think that she was still alive. But maybe they were just excited that the mystery was over….and possibly thought they were doing me a favor by finding her because I probably didn’t know where she was either! 🙂

  3. lammilee says:

    Awwww! In terms of “doggy thinking”……this is precious, beautiful, sad and yet redemptive! Death has it’s own scent…..as well as LIFE it’s own scent. Your living dogs brought ‘closure’ to an all-consuming-loss. You felt it, they felt it! And now in human and doggy thinking……the case is closed. Tragically painful…..beautifully complete! I am finding myself engulfed in tears that recognize the beginning of all things, the end of all things…..and the heart that is wrapped up in the investment that will endure forever!!! Kissing your heart……and theirs as well! ❤

    • Victoria says:

      Thanks Candy! I think it was precious that they “found her” as well…that they were determined that they wouldn’t stop until they found her. I agree, it was precious! Thanks for your words, I couldn’t have said it better! Love you sis!!

  4. Joann says:

    I am also so glad that you can see the humorous side. I agree with Candy, in doggy terms it’s precious!

Leave a Reply

