Pocketful of Rocks!

As I was driving into work today I heard a song playing on the radio that touched my heart deeply. I was reminded again of God’s mercy towards me and the depth of His mercy brought tears to my eyes and joy to my heart. This reminder extended beyond myself towards those around me…to not forget the mercy that was shown me and because of that mercy,  to extend it to others who need the forgiveness that was freely given to me!

Come as You Are

(Pocket Full of Rocks)

He’s not mad at you
And He’s not disappointed
His grace is greater still
Than all of your wrong choices
He is full of mercy
And He is ever kind
Hear His invitation
His arms are open wide
Chorus:
You can come as you are
With all your broken pieces
And all your shameful scars
The pain you hold in your heart
Bring it all to Jesus
You can come as you are
Louder than the voice
That whispers you’re unworthy
Hear the sound of love
That tells a different story
Shattering your darkness
And pushing through the lies
How tenderly He calls you
His arms are open wide

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Oh NO, God didn’t stop there, because the next song that came on the radio was

Blessings (Laura Story)

We pray for blessings
We pray for peace
Comfort for family, protection while we sleep
We pray for healing, for prosperity
We pray for Your mighty hand to ease our suffering
All the while, You hear each spoken need
Yet love us way too much to give us lesser things

‘Cause what if Your blessings come through raindrops
What if Your healing comes through tears

What if a thousand sleepless nights

Are what it takes to know You’re near
What if trials of this life are Your mercies in disguise

We pray for wisdom
Your voice to hear
And we cry in anger when we cannot feel You near
We doubt Your goodness, we doubt Your love
As if every promise from Your Word is not enough
All the while, You hear each desperate plea
And long that we’d have faith to believe

‘Cause what if Your blessings come through raindrops
What if Your healing comes through tears
What if a thousand sleepless nights
Are what it takes to know You’re near

And what if trials of this life are Your mercies in disguise

When friends betray us
When darkness seems to win
We know that pain reminds this heart
That this is not, this is not our home

It’s not our home

‘Cause what if Your blessings come through raindrops
What if Your healing comes through tears
And what if a thousand sleepless nights
Are what it takes to know You’re near
What if my greatest disappointments
Or the aching of this life
Is the revealing of a greater thirst this world can’t satisfy
And what if trials of this lifeThe rain, the storms, the hardest nights
Are Your mercies in disguise

🙂 As much as these two songs touched me this morning, I wanted to share them here and hopefully allow someone else to feel the blessing that I felt this morning.

Have a wonderful day!

This entry was posted in Forgiveness, God Things..., Grace, Kindness, Mercy, Music and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Pocketful of Rocks!

  1. Sheri says:

    Perfect combination of songs!

  2. lammilee says:

    Thank you for posting these songs this morning. I didn’t even have music to listen to, but the impact of these words just cut through me. Here’s why: You know the process I’ve been on of just stealing away with God and then lingering…allowing Him to go deep and right things that have ‘toppled’ and heal me in the deep places that needed a touch from Him. It has been much like the woman who kept knocking on the door and not giving up until someone came to the door and acknowledged her. I have found that it makes people very uncomfortable to ‘deal with’ someone like me doing what I’m doing. LOL! And for some it might be just plain old ‘out of their comfort’ zone…..but for others, they truly care, and feel powerless to help.

    But it has gone from a beautiful mountaintop kind of experience in Kandaria, Kenya… to the day after I’m back home I learn of the death of Elizabeth…to being utterly undone by the breakup with my fiance….to not having a job since November…and finding nothing out there. Total discouragement, lots of tears, and feeling extremely hopeless, except for Papa! It also encouraged me to KNOW that there were those who were sincerely praying, and that brought me a level of hope that ‘joy would be coming one of these morning, even if not THIS morning’.

    Both songs ministered to me deeply. The 1st with it’s profound simplicity, (love when that happens), and the second with going off the ‘beaten path’ to say, “What if?” That ministered to me so much because of the interpretations of others that can pretty much level you. By that I mean this: Some of what comes at you from ‘churchy’ people who don’t know what to say, is ‘pious platitudes’ hoping you will be all ‘better’ after they spew. Those quite honestly give me a gag response instead which is not what they were hoping for. 🙂

    I only knew that this time given to Him to dig deep channels in me and to put right again, what circumstances have toppled, was what I needed. And even like Jacob, who wrestled with the angel…and who shouted out, “I WILL NOT LET YOU GO UNTIL YOU BLESS ME!”, I have felt the same in my going before God to hear His voice ONLY. And so begs the question that led to a different conclusion than what was outside of the ‘comfort zone’ of most:

    ” ‘Cause what if Your blessings come through raindrops
    What if Your healing comes through tears
    What if a thousand sleepless nights
    Are what it takes to know You’re near

    And what if trials of this life are Your mercies in disguise

    When friends betray us
    When darkness seems to win
    We know that pain reminds this heart
    That this is not, this is not our home ”

    WOW! I just realized that in wondering how I was going to get ‘jump started’ back into writing again, that my response has actually been my 1st blog back! See how God just used you!???

    • Victoria says:

      I love you Sis! I totally get your process! I’ve watched you do it several times now (from a distance…but even though we’re distant in miles, our hearts are never distant) and seen the healing that God brings to you….and each time that healing is not only deeper but causes your walk with and your relationship with HIM to be deeper still! I’m so proud of you and encouraged by the fact that you don’t run from the pain and trouble this world brings, but use it as a means to know Him deeper and more fully! I’m at work right now so I can’t answer fully, but will respond more this afternoon when I get home. I think it’s time I made a trip up there to see you!! Love you! Vicky

      • Victoria says:

        btw, I can’t wait for your first blog back…I’ll be watching for it!!

        • lammilee says:

          I guess that’s what I was saying, I think I just wrote my 1st Blog back in my response. Of course because it springboarded off of your posted songs…..I may just have to use that as well. Do I have your permission to do so?

          • Victoria says:

            oh, hahaha…I didn’t catch that! Then I loved your first blog back post! and OF COURSE, you can use these songs (my post) to write your blog…just copy and paste the response (along with the songs) into a blog on your site! Your response is a great blog post… do it!! 🙂

    • Victoria says:

      Okay, Sis, I’m finally back to respond to your blog. Let me start by saying Congratulations on your first blog back (even though it’s on my blog and not yours 🙂 )
      Doesn’t matter. Love what you had to write and the process God takes you through to bring you deeper with Him!

      I agree with you about things said by “churchy” people who are basing what they say against a set rules that either say “don’t do this” or “don’t do things that way” because that is all they know, and their relationship with God is plastic because it is not really based on a God who sees deep into our hearts and cares about us as individuals. These people (and sometimes whole churches are filled with them) seem more concerned about how they look and what the latest gossip is than about the souls of lost people. They seem to live their lives based on a “truth” that they were told as children and whether or not it is or isn’t true, they base their lives and everything they say on it, because they have never dug deeper to find the out for themselves WHO this God is that they “serve”. Out of the mouths of these people spews the “pious platitudes” that I think you are talking about. The “Pious Platitudes” that hurt because they are “spewed” at you out of a Pharisaical legalism, not from a deep place that they’ve allowed God to take them….a place of healing and relationship.

      There are two songs that describe these people better than I could…they just happen to both be by Casting Crowns. The first one is called Stained Glass Masquerade:
      Is there anyone that fails
      Is there anyone that falls
      Am I the only one in church today feelin’ so small

      Cause when I take a look around
      Everybody seems so strong
      I know they’ll soon discover
      That I don’t belong

      So I tuck it all away, like everything’s okay
      If I make them all believe it, maybe I’ll believe it too
      So with a painted grin, I play the part again
      So everyone will see me the way that I see them

      Are we happy plastic people
      Under shiny plastic steeples
      With walls around our weakness
      And smiles to hide our pain
      But if the invitation’s open
      To every heart that has been broken
      Maybe then we close the curtain
      On our stained glass masquerade

      Is there anyone who’s been there
      Are there any hands to raise
      Am I the only one who’s traded
      In the altar for a stage

      The performance is convincing
      And we know every line by heart
      Only when no one is watching
      Can we really fall apart

      But would it set me free
      If I dared to let you see
      The truth behind the person
      That you imagine me to be

      Would your arms be open
      Or would you walk away
      Would the love of Jesus
      Be enough to make you stay

      Does that say it all?

      Then this song is also by Casting Crowns. If get the chance take a look at the video that goes with it…it will break your heart! It’s called

      Does Anybody Hear Her lyrics
      Songwriters: Hall, John Mark;

      She is running
      A hundred miles an hour in the wrong direction
      She is trying but the canyon’s ever widening
      In the depths of her cold heart
      So she sets out on another misadventure just to find
      She’s another two years older
      And she’s three more steps behind

      Does anybody hear her? Can anybody see?
      Or does anybody even know she’s going down today?
      Under the shadow of our steeple
      With all the lost and lonely people
      Searching for the hope that’s tucked away in you and me
      Does anybody hear her? Can anybody see?

      She is yearning for shelter and affection
      That she never found at home
      She is searching for a hero to ride in
      To ride in and save the day
      And in walks her prince charming
      And he knows just what to say
      Momentary lapse of reason
      And she gives herself away

      Does anybody hear her? Can anybody see?
      Or does anybody even know she’s going down today?
      Under the shadow of our steeple
      With all the lost and lonely people
      Searching for the hope that’s tucked away in you and me
      Does anybody hear her? Can anybody see?

      If judgment looms under every steeple
      If lofty glances from lofty people
      Can’t see past her scarlet letter
      And we’ve never even met her

      If judgment looms under every steeple
      If lofty glances from lofty people
      Can’t see past her scarlet letter
      And we’ve never even met her
      Never even met her, never even met her

      Does anybody hear her? Does anybody see?
      Or does anybody even know she’s going down today?
      Under the shadow of our steeple
      With all the lost and lonely people
      Searching for the hope that’s tucked away in you and me

      Does anybody hear her? Does anybody see?
      Does anybody even know she’s going down today?
      Under the shadow of our steeple
      With all the lost and lonely people
      Searching for the hope that’s tucked away in you and me
      Does anybody hear her? Does anybody see?

      He is running a hundred miles an hour
      In the wrong direction

      Here’s the video:

      • Victoria says:

        By the way….I loved being used by God to get you writing again 😀

        • Victoria says:

          Oh, I have to share this song as well, by Josh Wilson called “Fall Apart” I think you’ll love the words…here’s a link to the song: http://youtu.be/t3EWHPp80EA
          Here’s the lyrics:

          Why in the world did I think I could
          Only get to know you when my life was good
          When everything just falls in place
          The easiest thing is to give You praise

          Now it all seems upside down

          ‘Cause my whole world is caving in
          But I feel You now more than I did then
          How can I come to the end of me
          And somehow still have all I need
          God, I want to know You more
          Maybe this is how it starts
          I find You when I fall apart

          Blessed are the ones who understand
          We’ve got nothing to bring but empty hands
          Nothing to hide and nothing to prove
          Our heartbreak brings us back to You

          And it all seems upside down

          ‘Cause my whole world is caving in
          But I feel You now more than I did then
          How can I come to the end of me
          And somehow still have all I need
          God, I want to know You more
          Maybe this is how it starts
          I find You when I fall apart

          I don’t know how long this will last
          I’m praying for the pain to pass
          But maybe this is the best thing that
          Has ever happened to me

          My whole world is caving in
          But I feel You now more than I did then
          How can I come to the end of me
          And somehow still have all I need
          God, I want to know You more
          Maybe this is how it starts
          I find You when
          You will find me when I fall apart

  3. lammilee says:

    Beautiful songs! Loved them! Loved the words! The 2nd song you posted by Casting Crown, I had actually posted myself quite awhile back on my FB wall. The last song by Josh Wilson was actually an accurate description of my real life experience after several years of a ga-zillion times around the mountain to finally learn that I got so much closer to Him when I got to the end of myself. I’m guessing it is the experience of many!

    And your description of ‘churchiness’ was right on. Mostly about ‘appearances’, and the ‘masks’ being in place at all times. But behind the mask, an emptiness. Casting Crown’s song, Stained Glass Masquerade described it very accurately!

    Thanks again for your post this morning, Sis! What a blessing it and YOU turned out to be today! Love you oodles and kaboodles!

  4. Victoria says:

    Oh cool, Candy….I had forgotten that you posted it on you fb wall. Every time I watch that video it brings tears to my eyes (Does Anybody Hear Her?) …

    I’m so glad that you were blessed by these songs, I was very blessed listening to them!

    Hey Sis…I’m serious about a trip up there to see you (perhaps over a weekend)…when is the next long weekend….I’ll have to look at the calendar and see when the next long weekend is (meaning that I’d have Monday off so I’d have Friday afternoon and Monday for travel days and we’d get Saturday and Sunday. I’d probably bring Jazmin with me (if that’s okay)…think about when is good for you! Love you!

  5. lammilee says:

    Oh cool! Well whenever, just hurry and do it before I get a job that might require me working on some portion of the weekend. Also you know how frustrating the ‘Lindy Hop’ can be here, so more than likely we would just be trying to leave here as much as possible so we didn’t get overrun with agenda. That may be harder to do with dogs in tow. Just something to consider. If we were both made a money we could just find a dog-friendly hotel and problem solved. 😉 Can’t wait to see you!!!

    • Victoria says:

      Or….I could rent a fairly cheap hotel/motel in the area there that allows dogs and we could stay there! Or I just don’t have to bring Jazzy…but still we could rent a motel (if it’s around $50.00 a night or so)

  6. lammilee says:

    I don’t care a bit for her coming…..the point was more trying to do the ‘Lindy Hussle’ so we could actually get to visit with each other. Always a challenge given the circumstances. And w/o Lee around to occupy her time….she can be quite domineering.

  7. Victoria says:

    BTW, I’m posting the You Tube links for the songs here so you can at least hear how they sound. Some other people have usually made them, (I can’t always find the original artist’s video) but the song itself is sung by the original artist…

    Here’s “Come As You Are” by Pocketful of Rocks: http://youtu.be/6U-MSwd6zMU

    “Blessings” by Laura’s Story: http://youtu.be/eSNljVsHaQI

    “Stained Glass Masquerade” by Casting Crowns: http://youtu.be/a7U–p31vIY

    The other ones I think I already posted links to a music video so you could hear the songs…

Leave a Reply

