Snails in my tank…

That’s right…I have about 30 snails in my fish tank! Honestly, I turned around and there they were! About 2 months ago I brought home some live plants from the Aquarium store. A few days later, I noticed that I had a couple of snails…”oh cool,” I thought. Now two months later those snails have multiplied into 30 snails (that I can easily count). Since the color of the snails blends in with the gravel, there could be hundreds more… oh boy…who knew that snails think they are rabbits?

Of course, earlier today I counted 30 on the front glass, but by the time I got around to getting my camera, they all hid, except these few (the blobs at the top right of the picture) who were hanging out together.

Anybody know if snails are good for the tank? Probably not this many….

This entry was posted in fish, snails and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Snails in my tank…

  1. Joann says:

    They are good, but you may have to remove a few and flush them or put them in a local pond.

  2. Lisa says:

    As you’ve discovered, snails are very prolific. They can overwhelm a tank very quickly and turn a balanced tank into an overloaded tank. Like Joann said, you really should remove some so that you can keep the bioload balanced. Some people believe snails “clean” a tank, but mostly they are neutral. They might clean a bit, but they also increase the bioload.

  3. Victoria says:

    Yeah, I’m going to remove some. They haven’t done a very good job on the algae in the tank, I’ve had to get that off myself. I’m not really sure I want snails anymore if they multiply this fast….

  4. lammilee says:

    Vicky!!!! You tank is quite beautiful!!!! Makes me want one! Soooo pretty! Heck I couldn’t see any snails….but if you say they’re there, I’ll take your word for it! 😉 JK! I did see a blobbish looking no color thing in the corner of one of your pics. UGH I don’t think I’d want something that prolific in my tank either. Aside from sifting through everything…..is there a way to put something in the tank that they especially gravitate to and then lift that (with them clinging to it) out of the tank, I wonder?

Leave a Reply

