Here Fishy Fishy…

I have a few new pets. They live in a big glass container in my living room. You can’t really pet them and all they do is swim around all day, but oh how relaxing it is to watch them…

So far I have 5 glo fish and 1 shrimp. The shrimp is a ghost shrimp and he’s a little bit hard to see at first. The first picture is kinda blurry, but if you look closely, you can see the ghost shrimp.

The Glo Fish were originally genetically modified to be so colorful for detecting pollution and are patented so that pet stores can’t breed them for resale. Scientists added a gene from sea coral, a gene from jelly fish and came up with this cool brightly colored fish. You can read about it here:

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/GloFish

Can’t wait to get more fish, I have a whole list of fish that I want.

image
image
image
image
image

Posted from WordPress for Android

This entry was posted in fish, Fishermen, Fun Things..., Letters and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Here Fishy Fishy…

  1. COOL! Salt water, I presume?

  2. Lisa says:

    I saw your photos and thought “those look like zebra danios to me!”. Then I looked them up, and sure enough, they are! Danios are typically pretty hardy. Just be sure you keep a small school or they get fin-nippy. 😉
    I used to manage the aquarium department for a couple of stores in a pet store chain that I’m pretty sure is now defunct. It was a great experience. I miss my aquarium; the movers broke it between Nebraska and Florida, and I never replaced it.

    • Victoria says:

      yeah, the come from the zebra danios…they were genetically altered….can’t wait to put a black light on them…I have 4 of them…how many do you need to form a small school? That’s cool that you worked for an aquarium!

      • Lisa says:

        Well, not for an aquarium, but for a pet store chain that had an aquarium department. Freshwater only. In California I got to go to the wholesaler’s and pick out the fish for our store, which was WAYYYY cool!

        Add one danio for now. Work in odd numbers. Three is the absolute minimum, but five is a better minimum. Consider that your personal rule for any schooling fish like danios, tetras, barbs, etc. Just be sure you don’t blow the bio-load on the tank. If your tank is new, be slow to add more fish for a couple of weeks so that the bacteria that synthesize the ammonia that fish excrete (and is toxic to them, just like us trying to swim in our own pee) can multiply and establish strong colonies. I’d love to come see your tank!

        • Victoria says:

          I had 5 but one died this morning. The other 4 seem to be doing well. the ghost shrimp seems to be doing.well too. I wanted to rearrange things in the tank and I didn’t want to hurt him, so before I moved anything I “fished” him out and put him in a bowl that had some of the tank water in it…..WHO KNEW that shrimp can jump? He jumped right outta that bowl. He was only out for a min and we got him back in the tank and he seems fine….hopefullly he wasn’t too stressed…we’ll see.

          That’s very cool that you got to order the fish! Awesome!

          I would love for you to come see my tank, I’m very excited about my tank, but I’m taking adding the fish slow…. I read that you should only add 3 at a time so you don’t overload the biological balance in the tank….is that true?

          • Lisa says:

            It’s not a set rule. Adding three fish to a brand new 10 gallon tank can just about send it over the edge. Adding three fish to a 55 gallon tank is barely a drop in the bucket! Also depends on the size/type of fish. If you know anyone with an active, healthy tank, you could use a handful of their gravel to “seed” your tank. Right now you have a lot of ammonia and not much bacteria to process it. That will change in time. Oh, and don’t be fooled that an “algae eater” or a plecostomus will help keep your tank clean. They will only add to the bio-load. But later, after you’re a bit more established, a few corydorus cats are loads of fun to watch! Also, feed sparingly for now. Any uneaten food means more ammonia!

          • Victoria says:

            Yeah, I know there’s a bacterial sludge stuff you can buy that’s spose to help with that. I also want to use the biowheel system which I know also helps. I don’t really know anyone with an established tank or even a tank at all.

          • Victoria says:

            By the way…my tank is 26 gallons…

  3. Lisa says:

    Nice little tank. People buy those 10 gallon ones and then wonder why it’s so hard to keep their fish alive, but it’s almost always because they have big tank taste in fish but only a small tank to put them in! 26 gallons is very workable. The loose rule is an inch of fish per gallon, but you have to keep in mind that some fish have a heavier bio-load than others, and you also need to leave room for the fish to grow. When choosing fish consider where and how the fish swims. For example, your danios will swim mostly up near the top of the tank, and they tend to move fairly quickly. Your shrimp will hang out on the bottom. If you get cory cats, they are active little bottom fish, So you need some fish that prefer the middle of the tank because that zone is largely unoccupied. But keep in mind that almost any fish will eat another fish (or shrimp!) it can fit in its mouth! It’s a fish-eat-fish world in there! Haha!

  4. Lisa says:

    Don’t be too disappointed if your plants croak. Plants can be very difficult to raise in an aquarium simply because the standard bulbs that come in the lighting aren’t bright enough or have enough of the light spectrum in them. You might get lucky (I hope you do!), but if they die, research before you buy more!

Leave a Reply

