Perspective…

I read a blog this morning over at “Sparky’s Place” that once again renewed a desire for  a proper perspective in me. (Sparky has a way of inspiring me with her posts). I say ‘renewed a desire’ because for some reason it is so hard for us humans to ‘keep’ the proper perspective. Our human nature seems to want us to be immediately concerned about our eminent situation. So quick is it that our perspective can change from seeing the scope of pain and suffering in the world (or at least being aware of it) to being consumed with our own immediate pain or situation….it seems to happen in a split second when things go wrong.

After I read my friend’s blog I began to ask myself “Why is it that our ‘daily little stuff’ has the power to block our God-view of the world so quickly and easily?” It has always puzzled me about my own nature, that even after God does some pretty amazing and powerful things in my life it doesn’t take me long to go back to my very narrow view of my immediate situation or small scope of my surroundings. It’s this constant need to be ‘constant’ about everything or we lose it, that has my mind a bit baffled. Why are we like this? Is there a secret to keeping our eyes on the bigger perspective of life? On God….

The only thing I can come up with is that it’s that stupid thing called sin that is constantly at work to pull us away from the One that gave us life. We are in a constant battle to keep our eyes focused on that Life…sin so quickly moves in to get our eyes on US, on OUR circumstances, on OUR needs, on OUR surroundings. We are in a constant battle for ownership of our hearts and our minds and we have to keep our focus on the ONE who broke us free from the hold sin has on us.

But…we must keep our eyes, our hearts and our minds constantly focused on Him or we so easily slip away. No wonder Jesus compared us to sheep. Sheep go about their business eating the yummy green grass and become so engrossed in this task that they can easily wonder away from the flock and they are suddenly in danger and can become lost, away from their shepherd and the safety of the flock. We are sooo like those silly sheep! We even need His help to keep our eyes, our hearts and our minds stayed on Him.

Philippians 4:8 – “Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy – meditate on these things.”

Isaiah 26:3 – “You keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on you, because he trusts in you.”

This entry was posted in Challenge, God Things..., human nature, Life, Nothin much...just thinkin and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Perspective…

  1. Laurie Wade says:

    I’ve been fighting that very thing. I spent 40 days “fasting” from negativity, had 3 retreats within a month that focused me on God and I find myself slipping backwards within hours if not minutes because I get my eye off the One it’s been on during that time and onto circumstances beyond my control. Thanks for the scriptures. I needed to be reminded of those!! And I agree, Sparky is a great source for inspiration!! I’m finding you are too!!

    • Victoria says:

      It’s something I struggle with a lot too, Laurie! I went through the same thing and determined that only words of life would come out of my mouth…and although it’s definitely a good thing to aspire to…the only real way it works is if we keep our eyes focused on the One who gives life!

  2. Joann says:

    I have been thinking a lot on this verse from Philippians 4:8. I’m going to print it out, put it in a baggie like my daughter’s friend suggested and duct tape it in the shower. That way each day I can meditate on it while I am in there. As of late, I have been so internally focused that I have lost sight of my life giver and have only been focused on what is stealing life away. I’m so glad that God gives me reminders from my sisters in Christ.

Leave a Reply

