Just a page in the Saga…

You ever feel like life surrounds you constantly with the same ‘ole stuff? You strive and you strive and work and work…feeling like it’s uphill all the way…all to find out you got on the wrong bike? Here you’ve been sitting on the stationary bike this whole time….no wonder there’s no progress. All your work is for naught cuz your bike was anchored to the platform.

We sometimes get so caught up in the daily saga of life and the only things that fit us anymore are the overused cliches: “Can’t see the forest for the trees”,”beating the dead horse”, “lying through his/her teeth”, “sneaking suspicion”, “straw that broke the camel’s back”, “between a rock and a hard place”, “up the creek without a paddle”, “pushing the envelope”, “easier said than done”….and the list goes on and on and on.

Is this what life is about? Being stuck in a rut of overused cliches and never being able to see the bigger picture? Our page of life seems so enormous to us….especially when we’re going through something…and especially when we lose perspective and begin to live by the cliches of life.

Whenever I get stuck in this kind of rut…and believe me, I usually stay here for a couple of months before what I’m about to say starts to become a part of my reality page…I like to look to the skies. I like to look at pictures of space, of the stars, of other planets and galaxies, of our own planet earth. When I begin to see how vast the universe is and how small even our very large planet earth is compared to the outer space, it begins to put my problems into a more proper perspective. I have an app on my phone that tellls me what each of these planets names are and what the names for each constellation is. This really begins to show me just how small I am even though my problems seem so big. At this point this quote fits me well … “I am like a book, with pages that have stuck together for want of use: my mind needs unpacking and the truths stored within must be turned over from time to time, to be ready when occasion demands.”

This is when I really begin to feel stupid because with all this overwhelming beauty and incomprehensible vastness I’m REALLY beginning to feel so extremely small that I begin to want to abandon this whole thought process. I’ve gone from being consumed by my problems to feeling like I’m too small to matter or to be cared about. This is NOT helping any more…

Just as soon as I begin to abandon these vast thoughts the thought comes into my mind….”but wait, not only do each of the planets have a name and each of the constellations have a name, but there is Someone who says He calls each of the stars by name as well.” Do you know how many stars there are? Then the realization hits me that there is Someone in charge of all these planets and stars and outer space! They don’t just float around out there on their own….that would be a little scary! There is Someone who keeps them in their proper place…keeps everything from colliding.

Wow…with all that to worry about I’m feeling PRETTY Darn small and insignificant. And somehow my problems have begun to seem pretty darn small and insignificant. However, although this certainly puts my problems into perspective, it doesn’t help me to feel any better about them, in fact, it only makes things worse, cuz now I just feel little and insignificant and unloved too. Where do I go from here, my problems seem smaller, but so do I. This too is not really helping….

Then this One who created the stars and spins them in their orbits speaks to me in a still small voice inside of my head….”remember that even though I’ve named the stars, I’ve also counted the very hairs on your head and everytime you cry I save your tears in a bottle. I am Mighty to save and I sing over you to quiet you with My love. Don’t think that just because my power extends to the heavens that it doesn’t also reach down and hold you in my arms…I care about the sparrows, won’t I provide a way for you? You cannot go anywhere, my child, that I am not right there beside you.”

I am a lucky girl, and I can rest in this One who holds the stars and holds my heart. Yes I may be just one page in the saga of life, but God is the author of my page and that makes me a pretty big deal!

This entry was posted in Beauty, Challenge, God Things..., Life, Nothin much...just thinkin and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Just a page in the Saga…

  1. Laurie Wade says:

    Sounds like some Psalm 139 sentiment to me.

    • Victoria says:

      Yes, Laurie…Psalm 139; Matthew 10:31; Luke 12:7; Zehaniah 3:17; Psalm 136:12, Isaiah 40:11; Isaiah 59:1; Psalm 56:8…and many more :)))) I’m so glad the God’s Word is full of promises!!!

  2. Vicky I love this! It so describes all of our processing before our Papa, Who gives us all the time we need to get there honestly. You are a very good writer! And I see vast improvement even since Lisa’s initial first challenge to you! I can’t wait to see what you will write next! This is good! 🙂

    • Victoria says:

      Thanks Sis. I believe that God gave us the beautiful world and universe to constantly speak of Him and remind us in Whom we are to trust! He knew this world would certainly distract us, but if we just stop long enough to be quiet and take in His beauty (in the form of His creation), it doesn’t take long for us to be reminded of His power, His love, His strong arm and His amazing care over us and power in our lives!!

    • Victoria says:

      Candy, didn’t you at one time have “He holds the stars and He holds my heart” on your fb page?

  3. Joann Eyster says:

    Puts things in perspective for certain!

Leave a Reply

