Pretty Luna Moth…(Challenge Day 2)

Well, today presented a perfect opportunity for a blog, so I couldn’t pass it up!

As I arrived at work, pulling into my normal parking spot, I immediately saw what I thought was a swallowtail butterfly. However, as I got out and inspected it further, I realized that it was not a butterfly at all. The reason I knew this right off the bat was due to the fuzzy antennae….butterflies don’t have fuzzy antennae!

So, I took some pictures and then opened up my old friend – Google – and typed in Yellow moth with tails and wala … this moth is called a Luna moth. It’s really too pretty to be a moth…but then as I started looking at the moths out there in the google world, there are a ton of absolutely beautiful moths!!

Anyway, I took some pictures and then tried to pick him up. I actually had him in my hands for a moment, but then he flew off into the woods…not such a graceful flier, but then most butterflies don’t fly that gracefully either. The Lunar moth seems to fly in circles, but he made it to the top of the tree despite his rather spiral ascent.

This is the caterpillar that the Luna moth comes from:

God is so amazing to give us such beauty … even in the moths and caterpillars! We are blessed!

Enjoy the pics!! (The pictures below are not mine, I found them using my friend, Google) 🙂

This entry was posted in Challenge, Insects, Moths, Nothin much...just thinkin. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Pretty Luna Moth…(Challenge Day 2)

  1. How wonderful of God to put one of His beautiful creatures in the path of one of His daughters because HE ABSOLUTELY KNEW how much you would appreciate it!!! 🙂

    • Victoria says:

      🙂 You are right…God is so wonderful and He did bless me immensely by putting this beautiful moth in my path, even for such a short time! I loved it…it made my day! He is good to drop little blessings in my lap day by day! ❤

  2. Victoria says:

    are you joining the challenge, Sis??

    • I think this challenge is a wonderful idea! I can’t do it at this time, because I don’t have access to computer but about 2 times a week. When things settle and I have a sense of REALLY being HOME….then, YES!

  3. Lisa says:

    Luna moths are hauntingly weird and beautiful. Haven’t seen on in ages, and have rarely seen one in the daylight.

    • Victoria says:

      I don’t think I’ve ever ‘knowingly’ seen one….they are beautiful…it’s kinda like a cross between a moth and a butterfly! Pretty cool. I think he was sleeping at first because he didn’t even seem to notice me taking pictures at first. Then I touched him and seem to startle him…although he still didn’t move much until I picked him up. I was even able to manipulate the branch to get a better picture without scaring him off..

Leave a Reply

