Life in the 850….Day 2

Today Vanessa and I are going to be cleaning the garage and getting ready for our sale. We have sooo much junk it’s unreal….but, hopefully after today, we’ll be able to navigate in the garage a little easier!

I think I’ll start the day (after coffee, of course) by taking the dogs for a walk. It’s such a beautiful, crisp day outside and it would be good for all of our spirits (and a good way to get Vee outta bed :P).

I was walking around the back yard yesterday just looking at all the work I have to do back there. One of the first things I have to do is sand and paint my shed, it’s starting to rust pretty badly. The roof is totally covered in rust, but is still in solid shape…I don’t know if it’s worth all the effort, but I do know that they are very expensive to replace, soooo….

That would be sooo much work….not necessaily the walls – that’s pretty straight forward. I would just sand the rusty spots and prime and paint. If I did this I would change the color to green though – a mossy green. It would blend into the  background better. The work-part would be the roof. Not sure how I’d even go about that…not only is it hard to get to, but it’s rusted all over ….hmmmm….

 Next in line is my birdhouse. It very very desperately needs to be cleaned out. The squirrels have taken it over and honestly have built such big nests in it that it’s really unusable anymore. So, time to take it down, clean it out and then put it back up for the birds…

 I also have this firepit that my brother dug for me, but we never got around to finishing it….right now it’s just a hole in the ground (although it’s usable). It needs to be lined with rocks, big rocks like you’d find at the bottom of a river….but alas, I never seem to get around to it. I also have a big pile of wood left over still from when my brother trimmed my big life oak in the front yard 🙂

 

 Are you getting tired yet from all the things I have to do? Well, there’s more! I have tons of leaves all over my yard (I need a leaf blower), have to get a truckload of topsoil dumped in my backyard and then spread it all over the place, then I have to plant some sod (not the whole back yard, but just the area around the patio and the pool. Oh yea, the pool, that’s another thing that’s coming….clean it out and get it ready for summer. Everything just needs to line up and wait it’s turn 😛

But there’s one thing left that I want to talk about and this last thing actually has a pretty cool story behind it. It’s my grapefruit tree. This isn’t just any grapefruit tree…this tree started from a visit to my parents house in Orlando, FL. We went to church with them and the pastor announced that the grapefruit tree out in the prayer garden (a little courtyard area with walkways, a fountain, and some trees (2 of which were grapefruit) was sooo full of fruit that he wanted everyone to take home as many of the fruit as they could carry. So, after church we went out and took as many grapefruit as we could carry.

Oh my goodness….they were absolutely the best grapefruit I had ever eaten! Soooo sweet and juicy…wow! So, I kept several of the seeds from the grapefuit and planted them in a pot when I got home, and one of them sprouted and took off! That tree moved up to Virginia with us and then back to Florida where it had to be planted in the ground because it had gotten so big!

However, it still has no fruit. This would have been about 7 years ago. I don’t know how long it takes a grapefruit tree before it starts producing fruit, but one thing I have learned is that it can’t do it by itself….it needs another grapefruit tree so that it can be pollinated. Granted, I’ve never even seen any flowers on this tree yet…it does, however have very large thorns that are very sharp!!

So, I’m looking for a mate for my lonely grapefruit tree so that it can finally start producing some of that delicious fruit! Anyone have any ideas about what kind of grapefruit tree I should get? I’ve tasted some of the grapefruit trees around here and honestly, they are nasty…very bitter. I want a really sweet, juicy fruit to be produced…..

Here’s my tree…

 Then back in February of 2009, my father passed away from cancer. My family held a small memorial service/funeral for my dad in the prayer garden of that church. My dad was cremated and his ashes are buried under that very grapefruit tree that my tree came from. My sister and I threw a shovel of dirt on his small grave and he is now buried under the shade of that wonderful grapefruit tree, in the prayer garden.

So now, everytime I look at my grapefruit tree in the backyard, I think of my dad and his love for gardening!

This entry was posted in Family Things..., Fun Things..., Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Life in the 850….Day 2

  1. Lisa says:

    Might be easier to spray paint the shed. Rustoleum.

  2. Beth says:

    The story about your grapefruit tree is really cool. It’s truly special that you have it to remember your father by. Now that I’ve read your story it got me wondering about grapefruit trees. I did a quick search and found this little bit of information (hope it helps):
    “Generally, seeds grown grapefruit trees will take from 7 to 12 years before they produce fruit. Sometimes these seed grown trees will never produce fruit, so it is a good idea to plant more than just one seed. In several years, you should have a fruit producing tree you can eat your breakfast grapefruits from directly.”
    Read more: How to Grow a Grapefruit Tree From Your Breakfast Grapefruit | eHow.com http://www.ehow.com/how_4769448_grow-grapefruit-tree-breakfast-grapefruit.html#ixzz1BmnV3JNP

    “•Most grapefruit trees do not produce any fruit during the first two or three years after transplanting and take up to five years to grown from seedling to fruit-bearing tree. Any fruit developing before this should be picked early to allow the tree to focus its energy on growth. ”
    Read more: How Often Does a Grapefruit Tree Bear Fruit? | eHow.com http://www.ehow.com/facts_7795271_grapefruit-tree-bear-fruit.html#ixzz1Bmlrpvcm

  3. Victoria says:

    Wow Beth, that’s really cool! Thanks for the links! My tree is about 7 years old now, so maybe next year…it did say that it could take up to 12 years though. It didn’t say anything about needing two trees to pollinate each other though….

    Anyway, I will really pamper it and feed it this year and we’ll see what happens! When I move North I won’t be able to take it with me, but….

  4. Victoria says:

    Hey Lisa….yea, spray painting will probably be the thing….but the biggest job will be sanding all the rust…don’t ya have to sand most of the rust off first before you spray it?

  5. Victoria says:

    Wow…this says it could take up to 25 years for a seed-grown tree….sheesh!!

    http://www.ehow.com/facts_5623474_doesn_t-grapefruit-tree-produce_.html

  6. Lisa says:

    I have no idea about the sanding. Probably. It makes sense you would. But remember…you are talking to someone who freecycled her shed because the entire family was afraid of the creepy thing!

  7. Victoria says:

    hahaha….did someone take it off your hands?

    I’ve always just heard that if you don’t get rid of the rust before you paint overtop of it, that it will continue to eat away at the metal….I don’t know if that’s true or not….

  8. Lisa says:

    You bet someone did! I posted that it was free to the first person who came and dismantled it and took it away. Some hardworking young family man who didn’t have much of anything came and did just that. It got a good home, I’m sure.

    Try googling “can you paint over rust” and see what sort of info you dig up!

    • Victoria says:

      Ahhhhh…..Google is my friend 🙂 Here’s what I found after only two searches….
      “>Try Ospho
      A great way to kill the rust is a solution called Ospho you can find at your hardware store. Just paint it on and let it sit for 24 hours. It’ll turn the rusted areas black. Brush off the flakes with a small wire brush or sandpaper to prepare to paint. Wipe down with a soft cloth. Use a rust resistant paint to prevent future rust problems.”

      and from Wikipedia:

      “A cheap solution that I used is to get some rust coverter (8 bucks cdn) and clean the rust area off and slap some of this solution on. After an hour or so, the solution should convert the rust into a black coating that acts as a protective sealant and primer. Now you can paint over the rust spot. ”

      :)))))

  9. Lisa says:

    Gotta love Google. 🙂

  10. Pingback: Blessing or Coincidence? | Upon My Word…

Leave a Reply

