Wisconsin – breaking constitutional law??

I’ve seen some stuff on facebook concerning the issue in Wisconsin that people will be fined if they speak out against (or for) a politician after August 15th, so before I jump to any conclusions myself, I decided to check into it a little further.

The only information I could find was this site: Free Speech Isn’t Free According to Wisconsin by the Noisyroom net.

 – which seems to agree with the idea that Wisconsin is fining people for speaking freely politically, but then….if you scroll down about 1/2 way through the article they refer to the GAB 1 (Government Accountability Board).  The article “Free Speech isn’t Free According to Wisconsin” states that  Sections 1.10, 1.28, and 1.42 are most revealing. I skimmed through the entire GAB 1 and paid particularly close attention to sections 1.10, 1.28 and 1.42 and it seems to me that they are talking about contributions and financial assistance.

May I’m dumb, maybe I didn’t read the article right, maybe there’s something “between-the-lines” that I’m not seeing, but I don’t see that Wisconsin is taking away freedom of speech here. Anyone have any thoughts or ideas? Anyone have any other articles they’d like to share concerning this subject? I’m not making any uninformed opinions on this matter, but I would like to know if this is true or not? If a state is making laws that go against the constitution of the United States, is that even allowed/legal? Hmmmm….. if it is true, they could fine me all they want to, I wouldn’t pay!!

This entry was posted in Bizarre Stories, Government, People, Truth or Fiction?. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Wisconsin – breaking constitutional law??

  1. Reid Magney says:

    You are not dumb. You are correct.
    http://gab.wi.gov/node/1252
    This rule is about giving people information about who pays for independent campaign ads. It is not about controlling what people say about politics on Facebook, or blogs, or personal e-mails.

    • Victoria says:

      thank you! I’m glad I wasn’t reading it wrong…I was beginning to wonder how in the world you could get that Wisc. was trying to take away free speech from the GAB rules….

  2. Carol Daumer says:

    Here is another recent update on Vicki McKennas program from her facebook. They must be scrubbing the internet if that’s all you can find. I’ll also try to get you the Jim Troupis website which should give more detail. Give this a listen when you can. After Sunday…..who knows what can happen. Love you, sis!

    • Victoria says:

      Hey Carol … I listened to Jim Troupis website and to Vicki McKennas program as well … I think they might be misreading what the GAB report is talking about…seems it’s talking about rules for contributions and campaign ads….

      Love you too sis!

  3. Carol Daumer says:

    [audio src="http://www.facebook.com/note_redirect.php?note_id=425605328149&h=7e9a5a7ea9cd48ed3bb5e186703fec58&url=http%3A%2F%2Fmedia.ccomrcdn.com%2Fmedia%2Fstation_content%2F1176%2Fvm_8-10_hour1_part1_1281454249_1049.mp3" /]

Leave a Reply

