God sent me an angel with a boogie board…

Sunday’s Sermon was really good … it was about who you call on in your desperate need will determine your future. He didn’t say it exactly like that….I’ve paraphrased a little. However, it was all about where we find our help when we are backed into a corner or “a cave” and have no one to call on for help. He used the example of David when he was being chased by his enemies and hunted down to kill. David ended up in a cave and there he cried out to God for help and God sent help in the form of 400 men who just happened to show up at the same cave David was in :D. God sent those men to help David.

The speaker also talked about his own experience when he went into the ocean after some people who were stuck in a rip current and his touch with death as a result of his rescue attempt. His story was very very real to me as I had the same experience, only he was out there to rescue two people who went out on a “red flag” day. I was simply swimming on a “yellow flag” day when I found myself caught in a rip tide.

Unfortunately, I didn’t know that you are ‘spose to swim parrallel to the shore until you are out of the rip current and then swim into shore. Instead once I realized that I was being carried out into the ocean I started swimming with all my might directly towards the shore. I am a very strong swimmer (been swimming all my life) but it seemed that the harder I tried to swim into the shore, the farther out the current was carrying me.

I was getting so tired and the realization that I was not going to get back into shore began to sink in. As I got farther and farther out into the ocean I began to panic and wave my arms frantically and yell for help at the top of my lungs. However, even though I was out too far for the waves to crash over my head, they were crashing strong on the shore where my friends were. They looked up once or twice, saw me waving and simply waved back. Knowing that I was a strong swimmer, they didn’t even think twice about the fact that I might be in trouble.

I knew for sure that I was going to drown. I was too tired to keep swimming, I’d already been trying to swim against the current for about 20 minutes… so I sat there in the water, treading the best I could and I began to pray….asking God to please not let me die like this. I didn’t want to die, I wanted to continue to live. No sooner than I started to pray someone shoved a boogie board at me and proceeded to swim into shore. I grabbed the boogie board and rested on it for a minute as I watched this person swim into shore. I was thinking…”he’s swimming straight in to the shore as if there isn’t even a current”, and “he came from behind me – farther out in the ocean” (as I was facing the shore) … but my thoughts quickly turned to how far out I was and that I needed to get back on shore quickly. Didn’t want to get eaten by a shark!

With the help of the boogie board I made it back into shore, looked around for the person who had pushed it at me, but he was nowhere to be found. So I propped it up in the sand where he would be able to find it and went back to my chair.

About an hour later we gathered our things and left, but I noticed that the boogie board was still there. As that evening wore on and I began to think about my touch with death that day it began to dawn on me that in answer to my desperate cry for help that God had sent me an angel with a boogie board! No man could have swam against those currents, they were extremely powerful!  This person that shoved the boogie board towards me and swam into shore like nothing was holding him back was an angel!

I am blessed to be the child of the King who cares about me that much! 🙂 In fact, He loves me so much that He delights in me and rejoices over me with singing! (Zeph. 3:17) & boogie boards 😛

🙂

This entry was posted in Angels, Bizarre Stories, God Things..., Ocean stories, Swimming. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to God sent me an angel with a boogie board…

  1. Candy says:

    Wow Vicky!!! I hadn’t heard this story before! When was this? It is such a beautiful testimony of the fact that when we cry out…..HE HEARS!!! It WAS an angel to be sure! That is sooooo, soooo incredible! And what warms my heart so much is that HE answered on so many levels.

    1. That you would KNOW that when you cry out His Name, He truly hears!
    2. That being a strong swimmer was NOT ENOUGH to combat the forces of the raw energy and power of the ocean (His creation).
    3. When you prayed……the answer came in an undeniable fashion!
    4. It would matter NOT to you at this point, if anyone believed you or not because YOU KNOW BEYOND A SHADOW OF A DOUBT…..THAT Psalm 91:11-16 is true, by experience!!! [For He shall give His angels charge over you, to keep you in all your ways. In their hands they shall bear you up, lest you dash your foot against a stone. You shall tread upon the lion and the cobra. The young lion and the serpent you shall trample underfoot. “BECAUSE HE HAS SET HIS LOVE UPON ME, THEREFORE I WILL DELIVER HIM; I will set him, on high, BECAUSE HE HAS KNOWN MY NAME. He shall call upon Me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble; I will deliver him and honor him. With long life I will satisfy him, AND SHOW HIM MY SALVATION.”]

    My dear sweet sister….YOU are a testimony and a ‘showcase’ for HIS SPLENDER!!!!

    OH HOW I LOVE YOU!!!!
    Candy

    • Victoria says:

      Thank you, Candy! I love you too! You are totally right, it doesn’t matter if no one in the world believed me, I know the the angel on a boogie board was just that 🙂
      I love that passage, Candy! Ps. 91:11-16…

      You are so sweet, thank you for your kind words! I don’t deserve them. You are the one that is a showcase for His Splendor my dear sis!!
      Love you!!
      Vicky

  2. Adrienne says:

    I really hate to make light of this story of almost drowning and the spiritual side…but in the first season of Lost, that girl dies from being carried out in a rip tide. 😀 Yes, I’m obsessed. Hee hee! I find this a strange coincidence, indeed…

  3. Victoria says:

    haha…I’d forgotten about that Adrienne! Rip tides are too strong for even the most burly man! I was obsessed with Lost too! and Gilmore Girls :)))

Leave a Reply

