A Dog for Jesus…

A friend of mine gave me these poems (just this morning) in tribute to my sweet dog, Joey. It is absolutely too precious not to share, so I’m sharing it with you. I’m sure that Jesus has quite a collection of doggies following Him all around…they’ve gotta have wings now to keep up! 🙂

A DOG FOR JESUS

 

I wish someone had given Jesus a dog

As loyal and loving as mine,

To sleep by His manger and gaze in His eyes

And adore Him for being divine.

 

As our Lord grew to manhood His faithful dog

Would have followed Him all through the day,

While He preached to the crowds and made the sick well

And knelt in the garden to pray.

It is sad to remember that Christ went away

To face death alone and apart,

With no tender dog following close behind

To comfort its Master’s Heart.

And when Jesus rose on that Easter morn

How happy He would have been,

As His dog kissed His hand and barked its delight

For the One who died for all men.

 

Well, the Lord has a dog now, I just sent Him mine,

This pal so dear to me.

And I smile through my tears on this day alone,

Knowing they’re in eternity.

Day after day, the whole day through,

Wherever my road inclined,

Four feet said, “Wait, I’m coming with you!”

And trotted along behind.

 

Rudyard Kipling

 

TREASURED FRIEND

 

I lost a treasured friend today,

The little dog who used to lay

His gentle head upon my knee

And share his silent thoughts with me.

He’ll come no longer to my call,

Retrieve no more his favorite ball.

A voice far greater than my own

Has called him to His golden throne.

And though my eyes are filled with tears,

I thank Him for the happy years

He let him spend down here with me

And for his love and loyalty.

 

Author Unknown

This entry was posted in God Things..., Life, Pets. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A Dog for Jesus…

  1. Candy says:

    Awwww, Vicky! That is just the sweetest poem…..had me in a puddle of tears! I thank that friend who gave you the poem……because it comforts my heart to know that a warm blanket has been wrapped around yours so sweetly! Joey was such a sweet, ornary little stinker that I’m sure he has brought delight and alot of laughs to Jesus! 🙂

  2. Victoria says:

    Yes, I’m sure Joey has brought delight and laughs to Jesus. I’m sure Joey is smiling that smile of his doing his twirly dance for a heavenly treat! 🙂

  3. I wonder what kind of bread Jesus would have had?? I bet it would have been a very loyal breed maybe a Collie or a German Shepherd. Cool to think about..

  4. Victoria says:

    Actually, I haven’t met a breed yet that wasn’t loyal to the core! But that is an interesting thought…wonder which breed Jesus would have chosen if He had a pet. :))

Leave a Reply

