In the News….

I have to confess that I’m not an avid watcher of the news. Honestly, I probably only watch it once a week (if that), unless there’s a hurricane heading our way, then a weather channel is on all the time…

Okay, I’ll confess something else…the only way I knew Ted Kennedy died was because I saw the flags flying at half-mast and I asked my sister…”Why are the flags at half-mast? Who died?” … to which my sister replied “Ted Kennedy died, Vicky!” You had to hear her say Vicky” to get the full emphasis of what the  inflection in her voice  was really saying: “Where the hell have you been, it’s been all over the news!”

Okay…somehow I always feel like I need to defend this lack of TV/newspaper news in my life, so I’ve come up with several EXCUSES:

Excuse #1: Maybe…just maybe I kinda like my world of solace that mostly includes reading (not the news), journaling,  Gilmore Girls, movies, and a few choice tv programs (like Lost, the Office, and Psych). When I come home from work I don’t want to be bombarded with all the world’s problems…ya know? I just want to relax and I don’t think the news does that for me…too much hate and “I think the whole world addicted to the drama, only attracted to things that’ll bring you trauma … People killin’, people dyin’, Children hurt and you hear them cryin’…. Where’s the love, y’all” (1) 😉

Excuse #2: The news repeats itself, and repeats itself, and repeats itself! Whatever they were going to tell me this morning at 7:30 while I’m getting ready for work, they will tell me once again at 8:00 p.m. when I sit down in my living room to relax. I think they will even tell me during that once a week viewing of the news that I have claimed to make! So why would I need the news on every day, 24/7…they make sure I know, one way or another (even if it is through my sister :)…

Excuse #3: Sensationalism, slanted, supposition, conjecture, left-wing, right-wing….need I say more???

and finally….

Excuse #4: I have the internet! If I really want to know something, I can have the information within seconds by simply “Googleing” it!

So, I’m happy in my little “lack-of-news” world simply because I know that if it’s important, the information can be at my fingertips through the internet … and I can always call my sister ;).

Just for those who love the news…here’s some headlines for ya from Wednesday, 9/2/09! Enjoy…

If you made it this far, I have a special treat for you! My favorite Editorial/Columnist/Funny guy….Dave Barry 🙂

Disclaimer: This kind of rambling happens when my dogs wake me up at 3:00 in the morning to go outside and I can’t go back to sleep. Therefore, I’m not really responsible for anything that was said in this post since it was so early in the morning.

~~~~~~~~

(1) (“Where is the Love, black-eyed peas)


books_1.jpg

This entry was posted in Nothin much...just thinkin. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In the News….

  1. Lisa says:

    Dave Barry is hilarious.

    I semi keep up with the news. I usually check a news website a couple of times a day to see if anything new is happening in the world, and IE brings yahoo up as my homepage and I can see some headlines there. Doesn’t mean I am abreast on every issue, but I do know who the Duggars are, unlike my husband who had NO clue when I told him last night they were expecting #19. He wouldn’t likely know who the BEPs are, either. And he DOES see the news.

  2. Victoria says:

    🙂 There ya go…my point exactly! 🙂

    Dave Barry makes reading the newspaper worth while!!

  3. Louise says:

    I totally agree with you not watching the news, I much prefer to keep happy inside my bubble. I love your excuses too, although I call them reasons!

  4. Victoria says:

    Haha, Louise…yes, I like the “bubble” too ;).

Leave a Reply

