Money, Money, Money…

“I work all night, I work all day, to pay the bills I have to pay. . .(Ain’t it sad)

…And still there never seems to be a single penny left for me…(That’s too bad)”

Well, my “vintage” 1970’s model gold stove finally cooked it’s last meal! It had begun to consistently heat hotter than what the knob says it should be. But, when the oven accidently  got left on for a couple hours and it melted the plastic oven knob to a state of unrecognition, I decided that “vintage or no vintage” it was time to upgrade…

Our "Vintage" Stove

Now I could go down to Cal’s Appliances and get a new/used oven for a good price. However, I have decided that I’m going to just get a counter-top convection/toaster oven for now while I save for a new oven. The stove part of the my old “vintage” oven still works, but the oven part is a mess 🙂

Here are the two small countertop ovens that I’m looking at (both at Bed Bath & Beyond):

The Delonghi® .7 Cubic Foot Convection Toaster Oven for $99.00

and Cuisinart® Brick Oven Classic for $199.00

I’m kinda leaning towards the Cuisinart Brick Oven because I like the features it has … specially the Brick oven part! I have a $50.00 gift certificate and a coupon for 20% off a single purchase, so either way I’m going to save some money…the Delonghi would end up being about $49.00 and the Cuisinart would end up being about $100.00 after using g.c. and coupon.

I’d really like to just get a new stove/oven to replace my “vintage” one…but did I mention that takes  “money, money, money….Aha-ahaaa-aaah….all the things I could do…if I had a little money…It’s a rich man’s world.”  {*sigh*}

🙂

This entry was posted in Nothin much...just thinkin. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Money, Money, Money…

  1. Lisa says:

    If you google those products, you may be able to find consumer ratings for them somewhere online. It helps to know how other people have liked them. I do that for just about everything of signficance that I purchase.

    When the time comes, a handy thing to know is that Lowe’s in FWB offers an extra 10% military discount off whatever floor/sale price you can find. They don’t always advertise it; you have to ask. There is also rumor that the next “Cash for Clunkers” will be for kitchen appliances, and that is due to start in October, I think.

  2. Victoria says:

    Oh wow! Awesome! I didn’t know about Lowe’s. I will be watching for the “Cash for Clunkers” for kitchen appliances for sure!

    Thank you for the thought about consumer ratings. I did google “customer reviews” for both products and they seem to have very similar responses — mostly positive! I’m really leaning towards the Cuisinart for two reasons…I like the styling alot better, and I love the brick oven part!!

    Hey did you get my Twitter about my blog not coming up on RSS feeds? Have any of my new posts come up on your RSS feeds? They don’t come up on mine. So I was wondering if I have accidently checked a box somewhere that has turned RSS feeds off for my blog. I get them for your blog! Would you mind checking that out for me when you get a chance? Pretty please! 🙂

  3. Lisa says:

    I’m getting your blog on my RSS feeds. That’s how I knew to look! Sometimes a blog is posted a little while before it shows up in my feeds, though. And maybe you need to check that you’re still subscribed. I’ve never accidentally lost a subscription, but it would be worth looking.

  4. Victoria says:

    Yeah…I resubscribed to my blog and it told me that I was already subscribed. I get your RSS feeds, but not my own anymore. My updates used to show up…but not lately…oh well. As long as they are coming through for others…
    🙂

Leave a Reply

